Guides Updated List of Android Version Names A to Z

    Updated List of Android Version Names A to Z

    With the introduction of smartphones in 2007 when Steve Jobs launched the iPhone, the world has been revolutionised. We have come a long way since then. With the introduction of Android in 2008, the game has changed a lot for smartphone users. Till date, Google has revealed 16 different versions of Android. Google has always been quirky about naming the Android versions. Jump in with us to find out the quirky Android version names from A to Z in this article.

    Android Version Names from A to Z


    Android 1.0 (2008)

    To compete with Apple’s iOS, Android introduced its Android 1.0 in 2008. The version then was nothing as compared to what we use today. The interface was pretty basic and there were not many features. However, the first release of the Android version has the basic Google Apps that we use. This includes Maps, Calendar, Gmail and YouTube, etc.

    Android 1.5 Cupcake (2009)

    With the second public release of Android, they started naming the versions. The introduction of Android Cupcake brought some major changes to the operating systems. There was an option to capture videos along with photos. The widgets were now open for third-party developers. Also, this version brought up the on-screen keyboard.

    Android 1.6 Donut (2009)

    The Android 1.6 Donut was introduced to make the interface user-friendly and better than before. Google wanted to make the availability of this OS worldwide. This upgrade brought in the support for mobile networks such as Sprint and Verizon. The most remarkable feature was the search box that we see in the latest versions too.

    Android 2.0 Eclair (2009)

    Within one year, Android has released three major upgrades with the Android 2.0 Eclair release. The Maps featured a voice navigation system that was a big deal back then. Another amazing upgrade was with the internet browser. They have introduced the support for HTML5 that makes playing videos easier on the browsers.

    Android 2.2 Froyo (2010)

    The Android 2.2 Froyo upgrade in 2010 was a turning point for Android. The first Nexus phone was introduced to the world that changed the game of smartphones. This version refined the Android experience. The home screen panel now has a total of five panels instead of just three. The Gallery application’s design was revamped with new features. The major change was the PIN lock system along with the support for Mobile Hotspot.

    Android 2.3 Gingerbread (2010)

    The next generation of Android debuted with the Nexus S named as Gingerbread. The software had a better home screen design and widgets that were more user-friendly than before. The keyboard was integrated with the support for muti-touch. This upgrade changed the game of selfies with the introduction of support for the front-facing camera.

    Android 3.0 Honeycomb (2011)

    The Android Honeycomb was structured to run on tablets too. The classic green theme of the interface got replaced with hues of blue. The widgets can be customised a little according to the user’s need. The most remarkable feature of 3.0 was virtual buttons. The need to use physical buttons was pulled out.

    Android 4.0 Ice-Cream Sandwich (2011)

    In the same year, Android released the next upgrade. This was released with the introduction of Samsung Galaxy Nexus with features integrated from Honeycomb. Along with that, a few more options were added to the interface. This included facial recognition, data usage analysis and new interfaces for Calendar and Mail apps.

    Android 4.1 Jelly Bean (2012)

    In the following year, Jelly Bean upgrade was about to change the market of smartphones. This was where the ear of Google’s OS started. A swipe to see feature could now get you weather updates, notifications of email and calendar reports on a single screen. Expandable notifications, flexible fonts and customisable widgets changed the way people have used Android till 2012.

    Android 4.4 KitKat (2013)

    With the launch of Nexus 5, Google introduced Android 4.4 KitKat that modernised the interface. A lighter colour theme was introduced for the OS and applications too. The ‘OK Google’ search command was revealed. A new phone dialer, full-screen app support and Hangouts app was introduced for efficient messaging and calling.

    Android 5.0 Lollipop (2014)

    With the Lollipop version, Android introduced the material design theme in the interface. The pull-down notification screen was improved with widget collection. The support for RAW image files was added to the system. The Android TV was also revealed to be used with televisions that too changed the game of our modern TV experience.

    Android 6.0 Marshmallow (2015)

    A white apps menu screen with a handy search bar at the top, Android revealed the Marshmallow. The option for memory management was introduced to the users. The volume control panel was introduced that comes in really handy to use even today. However, the notable upgrade in 2015 was the support for fingerprint scanners.

    Android 7.0 Nougat (2016)

    After 10 years of the launch, the Nougat was the biggest upgrade to Android. The notification panel was improved with grouped notifications. The multitasking capabilities of the system was improved by offering the split-screen mode. Google Now got replaced with Google Assistant making our online searching experience easier than ever.

    Android 8.0 Oreo (2017)

    The Oreo upgrade was pretty interesting with the introduction of Picture-in-Picture mode. The PIP mode and split-screen mode changed the game of multitasking for the users. The notification panel now had the options to snooze notifications and can be sorted by various categories.

    Android 9.0 Pie (2018)

    The virtual buttons that we’ve been using in Android devices were now replaced with a single virtual button. The feature of ‘Digital Wellbeing’ was introduced to make sure you don’t spend unnecessary hours on your phone. Adaptive Battery and App Actions were also revealed to manage background app processes.

    Android 10 (2019)

    A brand new logo with better colours was revealed to rebrand the Android OS. No new names are going to arrive for Android versions. We will be seeing only numbers with the upcoming versions. Navigation buttons are replaced with gestures to make usage easier and better. The most loved feature of Android 10 was the ‘Dark Mode’ that helps to save battery and looks better to our eyes.

    Final Verdict

    Android versions names have always fantasised us with better features with the upgrade. However, this will no longer be the reason to get excited. Google has decided to go on with just numbers for the upcoming Android upgrades. However, I still love the way Android revealed their Android version names. Which of them was your favourite? Do let us know in the comments below.

    Posted Under:
    Rounak Anand
    Hola! I'm a professional writer who loves to write about technology, marketing, travelling and designing. When I'm not writing, I prefer designing conceptual advertisements for various digital platforms.

    Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

    Related Stories

    Leave A Reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here